Kings Canyon, time to sketch…

 

Three walks exist at Kings Canyon. The two km (return) and approximately one-hour Kings Creek Walk traces the bottom of the gorge. At the end of the walk is a platform, with views of the canyon walls above. The six km (loop) Kings Canyon Rim Walk traces the top of the canyon and takes three to four hours to complete. A steep climb at the beginning of the walk, which locals call “Heartbreak Hill” (or “Heart Attack Hill”, due to its steepness),

The group is going to hike the rim walk and we follow along to the start of those 500 steps. They are steep, rough and what goes up must also come down! I’m very tempted, I’m sure the views are going to be stunning.

But we chose to wander, at our leisure, along the King’s Creek Walk.i phone alice out back ph jc 003_2592x1936It is quite a magical place, so peaceful. We only saw 3 other people in the 2 hours we spent wandering along. This tour is definitely all about seeing as much as can be fitted into the 4 days. The scenery we have seen so far is stunning and I would love to have the time to sketch. (I take lots of photos and I tell myself I will use them to sketch and paint when I get back home. BUT I have a confession I have not, as yet, kept that promise I made to myself!!!) I carry my sketch book and pencils in my bag all the time, so now I had time to really look and do some sketching.

i phone alice out back ph jc 007_2592x1936Look at this unusual barki phone alice out back ph jc 009_1936x2592So much to look atoutback tour uluru pc 304_4000x3000

Looking at the time I’m amazed at how the 2 hours have raced by. Absorbed in trying to capture the detail time seems to stand still. outback tour uluru pc 308_4000x3000I look up at the North Rim and imagine the group must be almost back down. They show us their photos and yes the views were amazing. But I found our time in the creek bed was a very unique and special experience. Being able to do this sort of travel is what I miss when I am with a tour group.

Now we head to Glen Helen Gorge, tonight we will be staying there, but not in the homestead like last week (see it here) but this time we are in the camp ground in the tents. img208More about this in the next post….

The ever “restless Jo” is still in the Algarve, but she is still finding time to take us on interesting walks. So I would like to join her friendly walking group this week. Go across to the Algarve and see the lovely walk she has taken us on this week.

29 comments

  1. We have a King’s Canyon here too. It is in the Sierra Nevada, where the giant sequoias are. Those weird spots on the brachychiton tree are where branches fell out. It is a weird tree, related to hibiscus and baobab. The branches sort of ‘unplug’ from the trunk, leaving those weird holes.

    Like

      • It is a weird family! The cow itch tree from Australia would be a good tree here because it does not need any water, but the seed capsules produce a nastily itchy tomentum! The small hibiscus flowers are supposed to be showy, but I don’t care. I am not getting close enough to see them!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Never heard of this one Tony, so I googled it. It seems it has been used in some towns as a street tree and lots of complaints because of the allergic reaction people get just from airborne seeds. Learn something new every day…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving the sketches! We too walked along the floor of the canyon, those steps too much for us even then, and with the OH’s vertigo walking on the rim was never going to be an option. Another wonderful place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely to see your views and sketches of the canyon from the creek bed. When we passed through over a decade ago we saw it from above and from an impromptu helicopter tour. Another of Australia’s special places 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for thinking of me, darlin! I love your sketches and the notes. It’s a much better diary than the one I keep. I agree that it’s better to take your time than to follow along with a tour group. If there’s lots of information to be gleaned you can find that out yourself. Your natural curiosity and interest in your surroundings will do the rest. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you, leave a comment and we can start a conversation