Changing Seasons : March…

I was hoping the weather would cool down in March after the heatwaves of February when rain and temperatures reached record levels. Since coming home from New Zealand in January I have been in heat hibernation through summer, doing very little and spending a lot of time in airconditioned places. But the forecast is for relentless heat and humidity to continue into March. Then thankfully, 10 days into March, the temperatures dropped below 30deg during the day and below 20deg at night. With the drop in humidity, slowly, my energy levels start to rise and being able to get a decent nights sleep makes a difference. I feel like doing things again.

March is also our combined birthday month and with our son and his wife also being March babies we usually arrange an outing together. This year we go to Kokomo Kitchen + Bar a waterfront cafe in Coomera, situated inside The BoatWorks. It’s a quirky little venue with a tropical vibe, relaxed, licensed outdoor dining space, overlooking the super yachts and Coomera River.

On the way out, through the boatyards I spot this very unusual cactus and can’t decide if it is a sculpture or a real plant. 20240309_135135

It is a real plant…

Another newly opened restaurant we checked out was the Beach House. Have a look at this link for some interesting photos. Situated right on the banks of Currumbin Creek. 20240319_132134

After a tasty meal we go for a walk along the Currumbin Creek.

Because the weather is slightly cooler it makes me feel like walking. Along the Broadwater Parklands is a favourite circuit. 20240328_114608

Jack found a new friend. Careful Jack, do not go too close.20240328_115422

After all the rain and humidity the mushrooms/toadstools, I’m not sure which, are scattered everywhere. But I don’t  think I will take any home for dinner…

Our first day trip since we came back from New Zealand is to Fingals Head,  a narrow peninsula between the Pacific Ocean and the Tweed River in New SOuth Wales, approximately an hours drive. It is years since I last went there and the weather is now perfect for outings.  We walk through one of the last remaining pockets of littoral rainforest along the Tweed Coast. A littoral rainforest is described as being a community of plants and animals that occurs close to the sea and is dominated by rainforest plants. Throughout Australia they are nationally listed as critcally endangered and at risk of extinction which is why the areas need to be protected and preserved.

20240315_112013

20240315_113152

The track leads to the lighthouse an historic building built in 1872. 20240315_113718

20240315_113309

We walk along the headland. It is exhilerating to watch the waves crashing over the rocks of the “Giants Causeway” The headland itself is an amazing basalt rock formation that was formed around 23 million years ago by ancient lava flows from the nearby and extinct shield volcano, Mt Warning.  20240315_120217

20240315_120425

When I “googled” Fingles Head I was amazed to see one of my “Gypsy Life” posts pop up about the last time I visited this place. It was 2015. I captured some lovely photos and being younger I had explored much more of this area. Go here if you would like to see this post. My “gypsy life” blog was to record our travels around Australia, but is now retired to the archives as a very handy record of those memorable times.

For lunch we went to the “Sheoak Shack” 20240315_123159

When I visited in 2015 it was busy and the crowds were being seranaded by a guitarist. But it was not so busy today and we were seranaded by birds. A magpie and butcher bird competing for attention.

Do you remember I mentioned when we went to New Zealand and I sent all my plants to the sons garden that I did not plan to have any more plants? Well look what’s now taken residence on the balcony…..

20240329_080536
I just can’t help myself. The balcony garden is growing.

****************************************

25 comments

  1. It’s lovely to have a few plants around, Pauline. We don’t have heaps but I’d hate not to have any. I don’t look forward to that energy sapping heat, but we’re a long way from that at present. Lots of welcome rain here and as I’m heading for the UK tomorrow I expect I’ll see a lot more. Always good to be by the water. Happy Easter, darlin!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I missed having herbs handy for cooking so bought a parsley plant. It just sort of grew from there. Don’t forget to take your brolly and enjoy your family in UK. Have a happy Easter

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, yes, I can imagine the heat and humidity sapping your energy. Makes me feel like a limp lettuce! Nice to see you out and about, you have so many lovely places to visit and plenty of good restaurants too. As for the plants, who were you kidding when you said “no more” 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Euphorbia ingens ‘Variegata’, candelabra tree. This is the sculptural vegetation, although it could be another cultivar. ‘Variegata’ is sort of a generic term for any of the variegated cultivars of the species, but there seem to be a few of them. Some seem to be yellowish, like those in your picture. Others are whitish. Some exhibit more pronounced variegation, rather than more blended color. Simpler unvariegated green specimens are in the background. Euphorbia ingens is not related to cactus, but is actually a different species of the same genus as poinsettia. The blue cactus in front to the right, and the cactus in the background to the left, really are cacti.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Is that your bird on the flag the Piping Shrike serenading you? It has a lovely song.

    The restaurants look great, and dessert at the Beach House would be my choice.

    Your plants on the balcony look happy. I hope they thrive.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you, leave a comment and we can start a conversation