Changing Seasons : March 2023

March is when summer changes to autumn. It is my favourite time of the year, and March is my favourite month. Not only because the temperatures cool down giving me more energy, but it is also our birthday month. Our son and daughter-in-law also have March birthdays. So we treat ourselves to a delicious seafood buffet at the restaurant “Citrique” in the Marriot hotel.

20230305_140950_2279x1800

It was a meal to remember.

After our February 3 week road trip (see it here) We were ready to settle back into our apartment lifestyle. We have now been here 8 months, how the time has flown by, and we love the camaraderie of joining in with Friday afternoon “happy hours”, “coffee mornings” and other special community events. This month the special event was a bus trip to the Tweed art gallery. One of our favourite galleries. 20230309_113951_4000x3000

First stop was Kingscliff for morning tea. Then on to the gallery set in the beautiful Tweed valley.20230309_125515_4000x3000

A varied display but what caught my eye was this delightful sculpture of a banksia.

We only had an hour to look around, then it was back in the bus and back over the border,  because of daylight saving we needed to be back in time, quite literally, before the Cabarita surf club closed and stopped serving lunch. We made it ok.

Our bus driver was a mine of information, having lived in the area all his life, he gave us very interesting facts about the history and people who lived in the area. But I think it was tongue in cheek when he told us to make sure we walked over to the beach to see the “interesting” plaque. It was a beautiful view, but had to chuckle when I saw what the sign commemorated.

So that was the end of March and I have just managed to squeeze this post in before April roars in the door. April has been an interesting month, so I will tell you all about it in a weeks time.

***********************

I’m pleased to be catching up again and joining in with the “changing seasons” monthly challenge. Thanks Ju-Lyn and Brian for hosting this challenge.

I also have an Instagram account “pauline.carroll.92” and post photos there on a regular basis.

37 comments

  1. You have definitely made the right move, living life to the full. That buffet looks amazing and a perfect place to celebrate your birthdays. Wishing you both a wonderful year ahead xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Belated birthday greetings to you all! Younger Child celebrated all month so it was certainly a very celebratory & festive month! The seafood celebration you had looks absolutely fabulous! I love the happy faces around the table – thank you for a glimpse into a precious family gathering.

    Appreciate so much your working so hard to catch us up on February & March – I always feels a little strange when I don’t hear from you on The Changing Seasons: you are one of the reasons I got hooked into this space way back … watching your garden grow was such a delight and meditation on nature. And now, catching up with what you & Jack are up to is an inspiration on living well. So of course, I am looking forward to finding out all about your April!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s the best historical site plaque ever. 🙂 Mr ET always complains about the signs along the roads for historical sites. They’re always right on the spot so you don’t have the time or the place to pull over and have a look.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. HEY! There is a comparably historic site just like that one on the coast of Oregon! I know I have seen another somewhere else, but I can not remember where. Heck, THIS could be one of those sorts of spots!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Where I lived in town, there was one of three somewhat famous speed limit signs. The other two were on the same more trafficked road across town. The sign across the road from my home said “19 mph”. I do not remember what the other two said, but they featured similarly unusual numbers for a speed limit sign, rather than numbers ending in “5” or “0”, such as “15” or “20” or “25”. Supposedly, the unusual numbers catch one’s attention more than a more usual number. Unfortunately, the signs were frequently stolen.

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you, leave a comment and we can start a conversation