Lens artist photo challenge : Wonder

I have experienced many moments of wonder. Moments in time when I stand transfixed in front of a sight so outstandingly beautiful it sends tingles down my spine and the world around me suddenly takes on a glow, a stillness. I feel in awe and will remember this moment for ever.

July last year I travelled to the red centre of Australia for the first time and saw Uluru. Surrounded by other tourists it was still a sight of natures magnificence

outback tour uluru pc 103_3762x2453But the moment that magic happened was after most of the tourist buses had left and we waited to see the full moon appear from behind this huge monolith. Gradually it crept out to bathe the surrounding countryside in an aura of peace. A photo does not do it justice because it was being there, the stillness of the night, the feeling of observing a special moment that cannot be captured in an image. It was a moment of wonder I will remember for ever.

outback tour uluru pc 139_3831x2243

I did enjoy being part of Word Press photo challenge each week and when it stopped I  missed looking forward to it. So I was pleased when 4 bloggers started another photo challenge and for the first week it is “Wonder” and here are the rules if you would like to join in.

  • Lens-Artist Photo Challenges are published every Saturday at 12 noon EST by one of our moderators. Post your reply any time before the next challenge is announced.
  • Tag your post with lens-artists so others can find it easily in the WordPress Reader.
  • Include a link to this post.
  • Subscribe to all 4 moderator blogs to receive the challenge each week.

 

Week 1 – Patti of https://pilotfishblog.com/

Week 2 – Ann-Christine aka Leya of https://lagottocattleya.wordpress.com/

Week 3 – Amy of https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/

Week 4 – Tina of https://travelsandtrifles.wordpress.com/

Ann-Christine will post the next challenge on Saturday, July 14.

33 comments

  1. How very beautiful and ethereal Pauline – a definite moment of wonder. I had a similar moment when I visited Uluru, but it was later that night when the tourists had left and I saw the most incredible sky full of stars ever. The sky was so bright, and I could see the southern cross for the first time ever. These are moments we treasure forever

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The wonder at this sight must be as you say – neither words nor photos are enough to tell how you felt that night. The stillness, the full moon. To stand timeless and wordless under the heavens. Glorious, Pauline.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I meant to join in, Pauline, but I haven’t found the time so far. When does it end? I think the next one is tomorrow. Uluru must have been incredible for atmosphere that evening. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A new theme is put out each Saturday. I’m just back from a couple of days away so must find out from Leya what she has come up with for this week. I’m trying not to get involved with too many challenges, or “memes” as they seem to call them now. Must admit I don’t really know what “meme” means!!!

      Like

I would love to hear from you, leave a comment and we can start a conversation